Seriously it`s Halloween! Can it please start feeling like fall?

We had a nice cold spell here in Virginia for a bit. Light jacket weather – you know, the kind that makes you shiver first thing in the morning, makes the air crisp and pleasant, makes you say “whoa, my hair looks good today”. Now it`s LATER in the year and it`s humid, warm, and not at all pleasant. I live in a swamp.

The “Canyon Lady” sitting on jacks near the town of Exmore, VA, on the eastern shore.

Oftentimes for the first few rides of the winter I find I enjoy the process of layering up to go battle the cold. There’s something…. Exhilarating about it? I suppose I’ll have to wait awhile longer though – sorry for my northern friends, you guys get the short end of the stick. I’ll be joining you soon enough 😉

I recently bought an actual camera, a little Panasonic point and shoot, it conveniently fits into my jersey pocket! It`s been a real treat to go on my normal rides only to stop when I see something beautiful and snap a picture of it. The beauty of it is that I get to flex my creative muscles while riding my bike – it’s a win win really.

Birds on a wire…

I went on a lovely evening ride recently with my new toy; I planned it to turn around at the top of the tallest bridge in the vicinity, while the sun was setting. I was not disappointed! I got some awesome shots, enjoyed the ocean breeze, and really harmonized with myself and the world around me. I think they call it “vibing” these days.

Either way. It was a great ride.

There`s some big changes coming. Really big. And I think they`re gonna change the way I bike (and blog) forever.

5 thoughts on “Seriously it`s Halloween! Can it please start feeling like fall?

  1. Nicely done. Good ride, good pics and now my curiosity is duly piqued. Not so sure we’re on the same vibe regarding winter rides. Temps dipped into the freezing territory here this week. I gotta find the right gloves or else I’ll be on the trainer for a few months. Fortunately I can still run and swim in most weather. Best to you in whatever is heading your way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sittingintransit November 2, 2019 — 5:08 pm

      My style of riding has definitely changed in the past year, Denny. Not for the worse either! It’s in the 50s here and it seems that our recent heat wave was the last one. Southern fall has arrived!

      Like

  2. I wish I could send you some of our weather (Michigan). It snowed Thursday. It’ll snow again today (or it’s supposed to, anyway). We spent about two weeks in fall and straight to winter.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sittingintransit November 2, 2019 — 5:09 pm

      Goodness I haven’t seem real snow in years! You do come to miss it, you know! Our fall has just begun.

      Like

      1. I’ve heard. We’re supposed to get blasted this year… I wouldn’t mind finding out what it’s like to miss it.

        Still, we actually get to ride outdoors in the summer, so it’s not all bad.

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close